Clare hurling great Ger Loughnane

Source: James Crombie/INPHO

CLARE HURLING LEGEND Ger Loughnane, Kerry football great Pat Spillane, Dublin’s All-Ireland winning midfielder Brian Fenton and Waterford hurling manager Derek McGrath were all honoured for their GAA exploits last night.

The quartet were recognised at the annual awards ceremony by the Gaelic Writers’ Association in Dublin.


Loughnane and Spillane are the latest additions to the GWA Hall of Fame while Fenton was selected as the 2016 Football Personality of the Year with McGrath winning the hurling accolade.

Loughnane was part of a Clare team that won two National Hurling League medals in 1977 and 1978 while his brilliant displays for the Banner were recognised with two All-Star awards.

As a manager he enjoyed incredible success in leading his native Clare to two All-Ireland titles in 1995 and 1997 along with three Munster senior titles. The Feakle man also managed Galway.

Spillane was one of the stars of a great Kerry team with his collection of nine All-Stars a record for a Gaelic footballer. He also claimed eight All-Ireland senior medals and 12 Munster titles.

Fenton enjoyed an outstanding season at midfield for the All-Ireland champions Dublin as he helped them retain the Sam Maguire. He was also central to their National League and Leinster senior triumphs.


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

McGrath’s Waterford team contested the finals of the National hurling league and Munster championship while also playing out two thrilling games with Kilkenny at the All-Ireland semi-final stage.